The School of Journalism & Mass Communication is proud to congratulate students who competed in the 2014 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention (TIPA). Students media organizations The University Star, KTSW 89.9 FM and Bobcat Update submitted productions, articles and recordings against college media organizations from around Texas. Below is a list of awards given to each organization.

The University Star

Place Category Name Title
1st Overall General Excellence Staff Division I (3 papers)
2nd Best of Show Staff Division I entire paper
3rd Editorial Cartoon Laura Shine “City Planning”
Honorable Mention Single Subject Design Lee Moran “Football Season Preview”
3rd Page One Design Lee Moran “November 12, 2013”
3rd Sports Page Design Lee Moran “Page C2 – December 4, 2013”
Honorable Mention Information Graphic Lee Moran “Room to grow”
Honorable Mention News Story Taylor Tompkins “Suspect in double homicide found dead”
3rd Sports Feature Story Quixem Ramirez “John Parker”
1st Feature Photo Austim Humphreys “Kaylee and Danielle”
1st News Photo Austin Humphreys “Bus Lane Only”
2nd Editorial Page Design Staff “Page 4 – October 3, 2013”
3rd Feature Page Design Lee Moran “Daily Deals”
3rd Feature Story Jordan Gass-Poore “Bowling in a life-long passion”
2nd Editorial Staff “Report Card”
2nd Special Section/Edition Staff “Back to School Issue”
3rd Best Community Engagement Staff
2nd Two-Person Photo Madelynne Scales, Austin Humphreys Live Contest
1st Spanish News Writing Liza Winkler Live Contest
1st PR Crisis Management Nicole Barrios Live Contest
1st News Writing Taylor Tompkins Live Contest
2nd Copy Editing Lesley Warren Live Contest


KTSW 89.9FM Radio

Place Category Name Title
1st Commercial, PSA Radio Colton Matocha, Evgeny Agarkov “Flu Prevention”
1st Production-Radio Taylor Wood, Josue Plaza, Sarah McGriff, Evgeny Agarkov “Stuck on a Bus: Final Episode”
2nd Best Recurring Podcast- Online Division 1 David Cavazos “Revolutions” & Monica Solis “Threads”
2nd Overall Excellence-Radio John Beck, Joe Pool, Becca Roberts, Ana Vaso, Olympia Mendoza KTSW Newscast
3rd Best Web Site Navigation-Online Division 1 Fernando Espinosa, Brandon Van Slyke
Honorable Mention Feature Story-Radio Sierra King “Therapy Dogs”
Honorable Mention Best Multimedia Package-Online Division Matthew Alvarez “Having Said That”
Honorable Mention Single Public Affairs Program-Radio Matthew Alvarez, Haley Brown, Harrison Keesee, Isamar Terazas, Lorenzo Almanza, Reynaldo Leanos Jr. “In the Public Interest: Campus Politics”


Bobcat Update

Place Category Name Title
3rd Televsion Announcing Skye Wallace
3rd Best Overall Newscast in Television Anchors: Valerie Kilgore, Zac Covey, Kalie Conley; Producer: Max Anderson “Bobcat Update Oct. 30th, 2014”
Honorable Mention Sportscast John Beck “April 17th, 2013”
3rd Sports Non-Feature Drew Bryant, Kali Conley “San Marcos building its own football stadium”
2nd Non-Feature Reporting Valerie Kilgore, Matt Uzick Package on flooding at the Fish Camp rental.”
2nd Audition Tape Valerie Kilgore
Honorable Mention Audition Tape Carlos Garcia