TIPAlogoTexas State students impressed last week, scooping up numerous awards from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association.

The awards included top spots across each media category.

The staff at The University Star, Texas State’s newspaper, won Best of Show while members of the team picked up individual first-place prizes in Newspaper Design, Sports Feature Writing and News Features.

KTSW 89.9, The Other Side of Radio, scooped first place for their Commercial, PSA or Promo work as well as for their Production.

The student-produced television newscast Bobcat Update also won a number of awards; for their Sports and News non-feature work, their Sportscasting and Announcing.

See below for a full list of Texas State’s awards and winners.


Place Category Name(s)
1st Best of Show Staff
1st Newspaper Design Lauren Huston
1st Sports Feature Writing Mariah Medina
1st News Feature Kelsey Bradshaw
2nd Sam Hankins Spanish News Writing
2nd Page One Design Lauren Huston
2nd Yearbook Design Lauren Huston
2nd News Photo Madelynne Scales
2nd Sports News Story Quixem Ramirez
2nd Sports Page Design Staff
3rd Sports Column Quixem Ramirez
3rd Best Community Engagement Staff
3rd Illustration Breanna Baker
3rd Overall Excellence Star Staff
HM Online Best Interactivity Universitystar.com
HM Online Best Breaking News Greg Arellano
HM Online Best Breaking News Package Staff
HM Editorial Page Design Staff
HM In-Depth Reporting Nicholas Laughlin, Mariah Simank, Alexa Tavarez
HM Editorial Cartoon Design Staff
HM Editorial Staff



Place Category Name(s)
Sweepstakes KTSW Radio
1st Commercial, PSA, Promo Colton Matocha, Evegeny Agarkov
1st Radio Production Daniel Fickman
2nd Sportscast Zac Covey, Jason Harris, Marvin Parker, Miracle Robinson
2nd Documentary Marissa Castro
3rd Sportscast Warren Schorr, Ishmael Johnson, Marvin Parker
3rd Documentary Matthew Hamill
HM Commercial, PSA, Promo Emily Reas, Matthew Hamill
HM Feature Story Allie Ibarra
HM Overall Excellence KTSW News Staff


Place Category Name(s)
1st Sports Non-Feature Story Marissa Ross
1st Television Sportscast Tyler Gaudin
1st Television Announcing Presley Fowler
1st News Non-Feature Story Staff
3rd Audition Tape Caitlyn Greenlee