CORPUS CHRISTI – The University Star staff members and contributors won multiple awards during the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) annual conference March 14-16.

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) is the oldest collegiate media organization in the country. It consists of 77 public and private two-year colleges and four-year universities in Texas that teach journalism or have existing or planned student publications. The annual awards honor excellence in student media. Twenty-nine schools and more than 275 delegates attended the annual conference in Corpus Christi. 

Texas State competes in Division I, which includes A&M-College Station, Abilene Christian, Baylor, TCU, Texas Tech, University of Houston, University of North Texas, UT-Arlington, UT-Austin, UT-Dallas, UT-El Paso and UT-Rio Grande Valley.

Awards the students received were:


Previously Published Division I

  • First Place, Interactive Graphic, Clegg Administration Timeline, Jessi Spain, Garrett McGinley, Sawyer Click
  • Second Place, Cartoon Strip/Panel, Procrastination, Stephanie Cloyd
  • Third Place, In-Depth Reporting, TPUSA Allegations, Sawyer Click, Jakob Rodriguez, Katie Evans
  • Third Place, Print Ad Campaign, Soapbox Soundoff, Megan Hicks
  • Third Place, Cover Design Newspaper, He’s Out, Vivian Medina
  • Third Place, Special Section Design, Apartment Guide, Vivian Medina
  • Honorable Mention, Feature Page Design, San Marcos Stars, Vivian Medina

Onsite Competition Open Division

  • First Place, Sports Writing, Jakob Rodriguez
  • First Place, Sports Action Photography, Jaden Edison
  • Second Place, Editorial Writing, Samantha Guerrero
  • Third Place, Feature Photo, Sierra Martin
  • Honorable Mention, Copy Editing, Claire Partain

Join us in congratulating our winners!