We are proud to announce the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC) has voted to reaccredit the undergraduate program at Texas State University’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The reaccreditation was approved April 29 during the ACEJMC national meeting in Chicago.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication’s undergraduate program was found in compliance with all eight standards. Texas State was the first program in the nation to pilot the reaccreditation process under ACEJMC’s new standards, which were approved in November 2020. The new standards go into effect for academic units with site team reviews scheduled for fall 2022. To maintain accreditation, a unit must be reviewed every six years. 

The ACEJMC is dedicated to excellence and high standards in professional education in journalism and mass communications. Only 117 schools are accredited by ACEJMC. 

The ACEJMC site-visit team report was generous in its praise of both Texas State students and faculty. Evaluators reported, “the school displays a strong commitment to student success, both inside and outside of the classroom. Students enjoy cohesive student support services, including multiple advising touch points and a warm faculty who are eager to support their students.”

During their site visit the review team found that “Extracurricular activities and opportunities for real-world experience are plentiful, engaging and form a critical thread in the fabric of a school with a strong sense of community.” The team also reported that the School of Journalism and Mass Communication has “continued to develop a faculty with a range of academic and professional experience to support the six programs.” 

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication is one of only three ACEJMC accredited public university programs in Texas. With more than 2,100 majors, Texas State’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication is one of the largest programs in the country.  

(story adapted from https://news.txstate.edu/inside-txst/2022/acejmc-reaccredits-sjmc.html)